Super Bowl XLVIII: Scottie vs. Mattyoshow

My fanship got the best of me last week, as I went with the Pats to beat the Broncos.  Meanwhile, Scottie went with his brain and picked up the win in that matchup.  On the week, Scottie went 2-0 with 24 confidence points.  I, on the other hand, went 1-1 with 16 confidence points. For the playoffs, Scottie is 7-3 with 46 confidence points, while I am 6-4 with 37 confidence points.  Considering that the Super Bowl is worth 16 confidence points, our playoff battle comes down to the Super Bowl for the 3rd consecutive season.  Let’s do it…

Denver vs. Seattlerichard-sherman-peyton-manning

Scottie: Seattle

Sorry, Matty I am going to continue to go with my brain.  Sure I can make this whole thing a lot more interesting but the truth is I don’t see Denver winning this one.  I am looking forward to seeing Richard Sherman cover Demaryius Thomas all day.  I am also a little tired of Wes Welker.  Before he came to New England, he was a nobody who middled around the Chargers and Dolphins organizations returning punts.  Bill Belichick and Tom Brady made him.  I would be okay with him if he took the high road and recognized what Belichick did for him instead of engage in this mini cat fight.  Much like Matty says below, the thought of rooting for Peyton Manning nauseates me.  Unlike the Patriots the Seahawks will stick with their strategy of running the ball down Denver’s throat.  The Terrance Knighton vs. Marshawn Lynch matchup will be an interesting one.   I am not looking forward to rooting for Pete Carroll on Sunday but he is the lesser of two evils.

Mattyoshow: SeattleUnknown

I’m going with the Seahawks for two primary reasons in Super Bowl XLVIII.  First, I can’t stand Peyton Manning and it would just piss me off if he won another Super Bowl.  Second, the Seahawks’ defense matches up amazingly with the Broncos’ offense.  Let me break it down for you.  The two keys to success against a Peyton Manning led team are 1: pressure him without having to blitz, and 2: jamming his receivers to throw off his timing.  Seattle possesses the ability to do both of those things.  Their cornerbacks are big and physical, which will cause problems for Thomas, Decker, and Welker.  I think Seattle will focus their efforts on slowing down Denver’s two outside wide receivers and then just plan on punishing Welker and Julius Thomas whenever they catch the ball.  Offensively, Seattle can control the clock with Marshawn Lynch and Russell Wilson will come up big.

Mattyoshow: Broncos

Well, Scottie is gonna be an ass and pick the same team as me, so I’m going with the Broncos just to potentially get a win.

Leave a comment