2013 NFL Week 14 Picks: Scottie vs. Mattyoshow

Scottie thinks he has this season all wrapped up.  I’ll admit, I’m not experiencing the same level of success that I have become accustomed to.  However, I’m not ready to give up.  I made some progress last week, and look to build on that success in Week 14.  Watch out Scottie, Mattyoshow is coming!  Let’s do it…

Last Week: 

-Scottie: 11-5, 107 CONFIDENCE POINTS

-Mattyoshow: 13-3, 119 CONFIDENCE POINTS

Overall:

-Scottie: 119-72-1, 1002 CONFIDENCE POINTS

-Mattyoshow: 112-79-1, 997 CONFIDENCE POINTS

Texans @ Jaguars

Scottie: Jaguars 12

I can’t believe I am picking the Jacksonville Jaguars to win a game this season.  I also can’t believe a team I picked to be in the AFC Championship at the beginning of the season has lost 10 games in a row.  This game is more evidence Thursday night football (outside of Thanksgiving) is terrible.  I want to believe in Case Keenum.  I want Andre Johnson to go off for fantasy football purposes.  The problem is I have more faith in Chad Henne to win a football game that will hurt the Jaguars draft even further.

Matt: Jaguars 8

The Jacksonville Jaguars have surprisingly won three of their last four games, while the Houston Texans are in a downward spiral that is going to end with Gary Kubiak losing his job.  The Jags won this matchup 13-6 two weeks ago, so I’m sticking with the hotter team.

Browns @ Patriots

Scottie: Patriots 16

Trick shot quarterback Alex Tanney will most likely get the start for Cleveland on Sunday in a game the Patriots will win by 35.  After playing the Texans close last week, the Patriots will not let that happen against a weak Browns team.  I am most interested to see how the Pats defend Josh Gordon.  Ironically, Gordon was very much available early in the season via trade.  Now he is the focal point of the Browns offense and a top 5 receiver in the league.  Mr. Talib meet Mr. Gordon.

Matt: Patriots 14

The Cleveland Browns are staying quiet on who will quarterback their team this Sunday against the Pats.  It could be Weeden or it could be Campbell.  Well, in my mind it doesn’t matter.  The Pats need to work out the kinks of their 1st half offense, but I don’t see the Browns having enough offense to keep up.

Colts @ Bengals

Scottie: Bengals 2

Truth be told, I have no clue how to pick games the Bengals are involved in at all.  For the past 2 years Cincy has messed me up like no one’s business.  I am going to roll the dice here and pick them.  I am buying their defense against Andrew Luck, who hasn’t been the same since Reggie Wayne was hurt.  Trent Richardson has been a bust.  TY Hilton hasn’t lived up to my expectations.  This is an important game for both teams.  Give me the home team.

Matt: Colts 1

Similarly to how Scottie feels, I never know what the hell to expect out of the Cincinatti Bengals.  Some weeks they look like they are an elite AFC team.  Other weeks, they look like they don’t belong in the playoffs.  The Colts are desperate for a win, so I’m sticking with Indy here.

Falcons @ Packers

Scottie: Falcons 11

Even with reports that Aaron Rodgers was in pads at Thursday’s practice, I do not expect him to play again this season.  Matt Flynn was atrocious last week.  Green Bay fans had nothing to be thankful on Thanksgiving.  The Falcons have been playing better football as of late and Roddy White came out of the witness protection program last week.  The Packers are nothing without Rodgers.

Matt: Packers 3

Nobody seems to know what’s going to happen with Aaron Rodgers this week.  The last I’ve heard is that he hasn’t been cleared to play yet, so I am assuming that he’s going to miss another week.  With that being said, I think that the Packers can pull this one out.  Matt Ryan will struggle at Lambeau Field.  The Pack will get after Ryan all day long.  Eddy Lacy will run like a man, and the Pack will stay alive in the playoff hunt.

Raiders @ Jets

Scottie: Raiders 10

The Jets have been awful as of late.  How is Geno Smith still the starting quarterback?  Granted the alternatives do not offer much, either.  I am going with the OAK Dawgs for my office peeps here.  Ruff Ruff Ruff!

Matt: Jets 5

I just can’t see Matt McGloin winning a game in New York.  Darren McFadden is back.  Rashard Jennings looks like he may play as well.  But, the Jets are the best team in the league at stopping the run, which means McGloin will have to win this one for the Raiders.  I don’t see it.

Lions @ Eagles

Scottie: Eagles 8

The Eagles are winners of 4 in a row.  Nick Foles it the quarterback in Philly and there is no question about it.  Opposing teams are focusing on stopping LeSean McCoy and allowing Foles to beat them.  Until teams respect Foles, he will continue to pick defenses apart.  He has thrown 19 touchdowns and zero interceptions this season.  That is how you win football games.

Matt: Lions 7

The Detroit Lions defense really isn’t very good, however the Eagles’ defense might be worse.  I think that this game turns into an absolute shootout, leading to a final score of 38-35 or something in that vicinity.  The difference in this game will be the Lions’ ability to get to Nick Foles.

Dolphins @ Steelers

Scottie: Steelers 9

Since the Incognito fiasco broke, I have maintained my position in picking against the Dolphins the rest of the season.  I am set in my ways and will continue to pick against them.  The Dolphins have everything to lose in this game, namely a playoff spot.  I expect Tannehill to choke with that amount of pressure heaped on him.  I will be interested to see how Mike Wallace responds in his return to his old stomping grounds.

Matt: Steelers 10

I just can’t figure out the Miami Dolphins.  One week they look good, battle Carolina to the end of the regulation, beat the Bengals on overtime, etc.  The next week, they look like complete garbage and get beat by the Bucs.  Meanwhile, the Steelers were rolling until they stumbled in Baltimore on Thanksgiving.  I’m simply going with the home team here.

Bills @ Buccaneers

Scottie: Bills 3

CJ Spiller looked healthy for the first time all season last week.  When Spiller is healthy he is one of the most dynamic players in the NFL.  Spiller will run all over the Bucs on Sunday.  NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Kiko Alonso will also make Mike Glennon and Bobby Rainey’s life a living hell.  Johnny Lyden would appreciate this blurb about his otherwise hapless Bills.

Matt: Buccaneers 4

The Buccaneers got smoked by the Panthers last week after reeling off three straight wins.  Meanwhile, the Bills found a way to lose to the Falcons in overtime.  Similarly to my rationale for the previous game, I’m going with the home team.

Chiefs @ Redskins

Scottie: Chiefs 7

The Chiefs played a tightly contested game against the Broncos for the second time last season.  The Cheifs may not be as good as their 9-3 record says they are, but they also aren’t as bad as most think they are.  Their defense has been decimated by injuries which leads me to believe they aren’t the big threat to the AFC I thought they would be come playoff time.  Be that as it may, I have complete faith they can and will beat the Redskins.  I wouldn’t be too upset if RG3 and 9 decided to have a nice fantasy day, though.

Matt: Chiefs 15

The Redskins might be the most dysfunctional team in the entire league.  Worse than the Houston Texans, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, and Jacksonville Jaguars.  Shanahan may be on his way out.  I despise RG3 and his cry-baby ways more and more every day.  Pierre Garcon can’t make a play when they need him too.  They only give Alfred Morris 15-20 carries a game and insist on getting the boy to Roy Helu.  I just don’t get it.  The Chiefs get back on track and RG3 gets hurt in this one (do I get extra points if I correctly predict an injury?).

Vikings @ Ravens

Scottie: Ravens 15

Don’t look now but the Ravens are in prime position to play their usual role of spoiler in the AFC playoffs.  The Vikings have no chance of winning in Baltimore.  The Ravens are a scary enough team to make noise in the AFC.

Matt: Ravens 13

The Vikings are a mess.  Adrian Peterson is talking about having thoughts of playing elsewhere.  Matt Cassel just isn’t the same quarterback anymore.  Meanwhile, like Scottie said, the Ravens are primed to create waves in the AFC playoff picture.

Titans @ Broncos

Scottie: Broncos 6

I am honestly going back and forth in this one.  My set in stone theory is Peyton Manning is Ryan Leaf in cold weather.  The only thing holding me back from picking the Titans, is in fact, the Titans themselves.  While Peyton can fall back on Knowshon Moreno to move the ball down field, the Titans do not have that luxury.  Chris Johnson is boom or bust and there is no inbetween.  Ryan Fitzpatrick is a serviceable quarterback at best.  Serviceable will not cut it for the Titans.

Matt: Broncos 16

Scottie isn’t sure about this one?  Are you serious Scottie?  The Titans have Ryan Fitzpatrick as their quarterback.  You don’t have to look any further.  Game…over!

Rams @ Cardinals

Scottie: Cardinals 14

The Cardinals find themselves fighting for their playoff lives on Sunday against the Rams.  Give me the team that has everything to play for at home.

Matt: Cardinals 12

After a slip-up last week in Philadelphia, the Cardinals are in need of a win to stay in playoff contention in the NFC.  Carson Palmer has been better lately, but the real engine to the Cardinals success is their defense.  I expect the Rams to have issues moving the ball in Arizona, and the Cards offense will do enough to win.

Giants @ Chargers

Scottie: Chargers 13

Many people don’t realize it but this game sort of has a rivalry feel to it.  Remember Eli whined his way out of San Diego and into New York in the 2003 draft.  There is nothing I hate more than someone who hasn’t done anything and already crying and bitching.  I expect a hostile crowd to rattle Eli. I detest Eli for all the reasons I detest Elway.

Matt: Chargers 9

Scottie, this is no rivalry.  The Giants suck.  The Chargers aren’t much better.  Rivers and Manning are both terribly overrated.  Home team wins.

Seahawks @ 49ers

Scottie: 49ers 1

Everyone who is anyone is busy pumping the tires of the Seattle Seahawks.  I get it.  They throttled the high powered Saints offense in Seattle on national television in prime time.  I always believed Seattle is a different team on the road than they are at home.  I believe Seattle is primed for a let down after their big win last week.  The 49ers are just the team that can handle the Seahawks.

Matt: Seahawks 11

I know that Seattle is a better team at home than they are on the road.  The Seahawks beat the Saints 34-7 last week.  That’s a 27 point differential.  I would say that the Saints and the 49ers are equivalent teams.  Therefore, does not playing in Seattle create a 27 point swing?  I don’t think so.  It’s simple math, folks.

Panthers @ Saints

Scottie: Saints 4

I orginally picked the Panthers in this one after seeing how Brees played against a good defense last week.  Then I realized the Saints were playing at home.  The Saints do not lose at home.  No matter the competition.

Matt: Saints 2

I think that Carolina presents a really tough matchup for the Saints.  They can get after the quarterback.  They are very efficient against the short passing game.  However, Carolina’s one weakness is against the deep pass, and that’s something that the Saints can attack.  Cam Newton will struggle against Rob Ryan’s complex defensive schemes, and Brees will win it at the end.

Cowboys @ Bears

Scottie: Cowboys 5

The Bears lost to the Vikings last week.  Yes, the Vikings.  The Cowboys are in a tight race with the Eagles for the NFC East crown.  I expect the Cowboys to handle the Bears on Monday night.

Matt: Cowboys 6

If Jay Cutler was back, I’m going with the Bears in this one.  However, Cutler has been ruled out for Monday night, which has me leaning towards going with the Cowboys.  The Cowboys have won 2 games in a row (granted, against the Giants and the Raiders), and need to keep winning to stay atop the NFC East.  I think Tony Romo continues his November success en route to another win.

2 Responses

  1. Going into Sunday night-
    Scottie: 10-4 94 points
    Matt: 10-4 98 points

  2. Results:

    Scottie: 11-5 98 points
    Mattyoshow: 11-5 101 points

    Can’t pull away from this scrub

Leave a Reply

