2013 Week 1 NFL Picks: Scottie vs. Mattyoshow

Ladies and Gentlemen, boys and girls, children of all ages, welcome back to another season of NFL picks brought to you by Scottie and Mattyoshow.  As always, Scottie and I will make our picks for every NFL game, every single week.  We will keep track of our overall record, and at the end of the season (including the playoffs), the person with the best record is treated to a night out at the bar by the loser.  In case you haven’t been keeping score, I always smoke Scottie.  The dude owes me at least 2 bar tabs.  Anyways, Scottie was whining to me about how I always win, so he wanted to institute a wrinkle into our weekly picks.  I know that no matter what Scottie wants to do, I will win, so I agreed to this slight wrinkle.  Aside from making our picks, we will assign confidence points to each game.  In a week where 16 games are being played, the confidence points will range from 1-16.  We will add confidence points at the end of each week and keep track of them just as we do with the overall record.  Like I said, no matter the method, Scottie has no show in hell to win!  Let’s do it…

I got cocky last year after jumping out to an early lead over this “MattyOshow.”  Yes, I have lost 2 years in a row.  While I admit, I am not at all ready for football season because I am fully invested in the Red Sox, the reality is the NFL is not going to wait until I am ready.  Game on…

Ravens @ Broncos

Scottie: Broncos  CONFIDENCE POINTS: 13

Peyton has all weapons an aging quarterback could ask for.  Demaryius Thomas is the deep threat.  Eric Decker is an all around option.  Wes Welker will be his check down binkie.  Only the defense is a question for the Broncos this year. I don’t care if the Ravens won the Super Bowl last year, I still hate Flacco.  He is a tool.  Ray Lewis isn’t around to emotionally lift his team.  Ravens will struggle this year because Flacco is not worth the contract he signed.

Mattyoshow: Broncos – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 7

Peyton Manning > Joe Flacco.  It’s the 1st game of the season.  Emotions will be running high.  The players will be all jacked up.  Cool heads will prevail.  I have much more confidence in the Broncos offense compared to the Ravens offense, and normally at the beginning of the season, offensives have the advantage over defenses.

Patriots @ Bills

Scottie: Patriots CONFIDENCE POINTS: 16

Buffalo will start EJ Manuel when Sunday comes.  The same EJ Manuel who has not taken a single NFL snap even in the preseason.  Why would Buffalo do such a thing? They have no other choice.  Sadly, their backup Kevin Kolb, suffered a serious concussion in the preseason.  Chances are he has no idea where he is at the moment.   Much like Kolb, the Bills will be completely lost come Sunday, and for most of the season.

Mattyoshow: Patriots – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 16

In my opinion, this is about as much of a no-brainer as there is (hence the 16 confidence points).  Even if somehow EJ Manuel makes a miraculous comeback and starts for the Bills, a rookie quarterback in his first ever start isn’t going to have much success against a Bill Belichick coached defense.

Titans @ Steelers

Scottie: Steelers- CONFIDENCE POINTS : 6

Big Ben has lost his favorite target in Mike Wallace.  Rookie running back Le’veon Bell is out with a mysterious foot injury.  I am not sold on Antonio Brown and Emmanuel Sanders as a solid wide receiver corps.  Be that as it may, I think the Steelers are still better than the Titans at this point.

Mattyoshow: Steelers – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 14

I think that the Steelers are going to surprise a lot of people this year.  Ben Roethlisberger was battling a ton of injuries in 2012 and the Steelers still managed an 8-8 record.  If Jarvis Jones can stay healthy, the Steelers defense will be a solid unit once again.  Le’veon Bell’s injury hurts, but not enough for the Steelers to lose to the Lockman and the Titans.

Falcons @ Saints

Scottie: Saints- CONFIDENCE POINTS: 1

I want to believe Sean Payton meant everything to the New Orleans Saints.  I was high on the Falcons last season.  I think they will be even better this season with the addition of Steven Jackson and with Julio Jones having another year under his belt.  I think the Saints will be filled with adrenaline at home and want to show last year was a fluke.

Mattyoshow: Falcons – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 6

With the return of Sean Payton, the Saints will come out with their guns blazing on Sunday against the Saints.  My problem with the Saints lies with their defense.  New defensive coordinator Rob Ryan is transitioning them over to a 3-4 scheme, but they don’t have the horses yet to run that defense.  The Falcons offense takes this one.

Buccaneers @ Jets

Scottie: Buccaneers- CONFIDENCE POINTS- 15

The Jets are big players in the Jadevon Clowney sweepstakes.  The Barnum and Bailey Circus could not hold a candle to how chaotic the Jets situation stands.  Geno Smith looked atrocious in the preseason.  Mark Sanchez will forever be known as butt-fumble.  Things are so dire, they brought in Brady Quinn this week.  I think the Bucs are a playoff team this year.  The road to the playoffs starts with a thrashing of the New York Disaster.

Mattyoshow: Buccaneers – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 12

It’s not that I have a ton of confidence in the Bucs this season, it’s that the Jets are a complete disaster.  The newest news out of Jets camp is that Rex Ryan took a trip to Clemson on Saturday.  That wouldn’t be a big deal…if this past Saturday was “cut-day.”  Geno Smith shits his pants.  Revis picks off 3 balls.  Bucs win.

Chiefs @ Jaguars

Scottie: Chiefs – CONFIDENCE POINTS-11

Obviously the Jaguars are dismal.  They may not win a game this season.  Maybe they get Clowney.  The Jaguars aside, I am interested to see how the Chiefs do with Andy Reid at the helm.  Not only did they bring in Reid, they also brought in the efficient Alex Smith.  I think these moves coupled with the talent already on the roster (Bowe, Charles) gives the Chiefs at least 8 wins this year.

Mattyoshow: Chiefs – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 11

Aside from the Oakland Raiders, the Jacksonville Jaguars might be the biggest disaster in the NFL.  2011 1st round pick Blaine Gabbert has lost and then regained his job this offseason.  Maurice Jones-Drew is their only formidable offensive weapon until Justin Blackmon returns from suspension in week 5.  The Chiefs will look to perform well under new head coach Andy Reid.

Seahawks @ Panthers

Scottie: Seahawks  CONFIDENCE POINTS : 8

I remember my theory last season was the Seahawks only win at home.  I know I am going against my theory by saying they will win on the road to start the 2013 campaign.  I think their defense will do enough to disrupt Cam Newton into enough turnovers to win it in Carolina.  Russell Wilson will be a victim of the sophomore slump this season.  For the Seahawks sake, hopefully, the running game and defense can pick him up.

Mattyoshow: Panthers – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 1

The 1 confidence point reflects how strongly I feel about the Panthers.  In my opinion, all of the offseason hype about the Seahawks is going to give them a big head.  The Panthers meanwhile have a ton to prove.  Cam Newton needs to rebound from a mediocre second season.  Head coach Ron Rivera’s job is on the line.  The Panthers are going to be a formidable force in the NFC this season.

Bengals @ Bears

Scottie: Bengals  CONFIDENCE POINTS: 9

I think the Bengals are playoff contenders this season.  They have an impressive young defense.  AJ Green is the next Calvin Johnson.  I still think Jay Cutler stinks.  I believe the Bengals will get to Cutler early and often resulting in a Bengals win.

Mattyoshow: Bengals – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 4

Another game that I’m picking a team based on a gut feeling.  The Bengals have put in the time, made the moves, and have drafted the horses to finally get the atop the AFC North.  Marvin Lewis somehow is still head coach of the Bengals and has this team moving in the right direction.  The pressure on Jay Cutler is immense in Chicago, and I think he cracks against a very good Cincinnati defense.

Dolphins @ Browns

Scottie: Dolphins- CONFIDENCE POINTS: 10

I’m starting to overrate the Dolphins in my own head.  I am giving Ryan Tannehill to much credit for doing absolutely nothing.  I think Hartline and Wallace are very good receivers.  I am interested to see what Lamar Miller does for Miami.  I actually think they will give the Patriots a run for their money for the AFC East crown.  At least in Week One I can get away with overrating them because it is the Browns they are visiting.

Mattyoshow: Dolphins – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 10

The Browns have elected to start Brandon Weeden to begin the 2013 season.  I hate Ryan Tannehill.  However, I hate Weeden more.  Dolphins step it up in their first game.

Vikings @ Lions

Scottie: Lions – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 7

Reggie Bush is a much needed added weapon to the Lions offensive attack.  Calvin Johnson will stretch the field while Bush will be open time and time again underneath.  When Reggie gets into the open field, show is over.  I think the Lions will become the most explosive offense in the league.  Christian Ponder has some added toys in Greg Jennings and Cordarelle Patterson (no relation) but he is still Christian Ponder.

Mattyoshow: Lions – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 3

The Detroit Lions will make the playoffs in 2013.  It starts with a beat down of the Christian Ponder-led Vikings.  In 2 games last season, Adrian Peterson amassed 270+ yards and 1 touchdown against the Lions.  Without Percy Harvin running routes for the Vikes, the Lions can focus much of their attention on Peterson.

Raiders @ Colts

Scottie: Colts- CONFIDENCE POINTS: 14

Terrelle Pryor at quarterback for the Raiders?  Ok, maybe they will get Clowney.  While I think Russell Wilson will go through a sophomore slump, I see no such thing happening to Andrew Luck.  TY Hilton will emerge as his number one receiver and remind Colts fans of the Manning to Harrison hook up.  Luck will have the Colts back in the playoffs this year.

Mattyoshow: Colts – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 15

Even though I love the Raiders realizing that they are in major rebuild mode and going with Terrell Pryor, they might end the 2013 season with an 0-16 record.  Andrew Luck has the best 2nd year of all of the quarterbacks of the 2012 draft class and the Colts make the playoffs for the 2nd consecutive season.

Packers @ 49ers

Scottie: 49ers- CONFIDENCE POINTS- 2

The Packers offensive line is horrid.  Losing Bryan Bulaga for the season certainly did not help them, either.  The San Fran “D” will have Aaron Rodgers running for his life.  This is also a semi-homer pick on my part, as I drafted Collin Kaepernick in all three of my fantasy football leagues.  I am expecting a “Michael Vick in his prime” type fantasy season from Kaep.

Mattyoshow: 49ers – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 8

There is a lot of hype surrounding NFC teams.  The Seahawks, Packers, Saints, Falcons, 49ers, etc are all getting proclaimed as the best team in the NFL.  Here’s my thought, the 49ers are the only one of those teams that is for real.  All Colin Kaepernick has to do is not lose games for the 49ers.

Cardinals @ Rams

Scottie: Cardinals- 5

I am holding true to last year’s form.  The Rams suck.  Sam Bradford sucks even more.  I am intrigued by the Cardinals.  I think Carson Palmer is actually capable of throwing the football to Larry Fitzgerald.  Something the Cardinals did not have last year.  I also believe Michael Floyd is the sleeper of all sleepers in fantasy football this year.

Mattyoshow: Rams – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 13

The Cardinals are led by Carson Palmer, which means they are destined for a season of mediocrity, at best.  The Rams, on the other hand, are led by MY MAN (and Scottie’s least favorite player) Sam Bradford.  Bradford made Scottie eat his words all of last season, and I’m looking for a repeat performance in 2013.  The Rams defense will be awesome this year…awesome.

Giants @ Cowboys

Scottie: Cowboys- CONFIDENCE POINTS: 4

Dez Bryant will have the best season by any receiver in NFL history in spite of his quarterback this season.  The man is a monster.  He showed it in the preseason.  He is going to be unstoppable this year.  The Giants come in with some injury concerns (Cruz and Brown), a man made of glass (Nicks), and a muppet as quarterback.

Mattyoshow: Giants – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 5

I have little confidence in the Giants and Eli Manning this season.  However, I have absolutely no confidence in the Cowboys and Tony Romo.  I don’t care what any of the experts are saying, I’m not buying in to the Cowboys unless the emphatically convince me.

Eagles @ Redskins

Scottie: Eagles- CONFIDENCE POINTS: 3

I like the Eagles a lot this year.  You know what? Give them the NFC East.  I believe in Chip Kelly, especially with the athletes he has in his offense.  Is there a more exciting triumvirate of players in the NFL on the same team as Michael Vick, DeSean Jackson, and LeSean McCoy?  If you don’t think so, Chip Kelly will prove you wrong this season.  I also don’t believe RG3 is fully healthy.

Mattyoshow: Eagles – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 2

I don’t know why, but I like the Eagles in this one.  Maybe it’s because I have fallen into the Chip Kelly hysteria.  Maybe it’s because I still think that Michael Vick can be a good NFL quarterback.  Maybe it’s because I think that the Redskins and RGIII will be trigger-shy for a few weeks to ease his return to game action.  Or maybe I just think that the Eagles are going to be better than many expect this season.

Texans @ Chargers

Scottie: Texans- CONFIDENCE POINTS: 12

The Texans have a ton of talent on their roster.  If Matt Schaub can manage his offense and limit turnovers  there is no reason why the Texans shouldn’t be in the Super Bowl.  The Chargers are just not even close to that level at this point.

Mattyoshow: Texans – CONFIDENCE POINTS: 9

What happened to the San Diego Chargers?  I few years ago, the Chargers were a perennial playoff team.  Rivers was a Pro Bowl quarterback.  Their defense was solid, and their offense was among the best in the NFL.  Now, Philip Rivers isn’t even close to the same player, the Chargers defense doesn’t intimidate anyone, and their best offensive player (Antonio Gates) is again and oft injured.  Meanwhile, the Texans will battle for home field advantage in the AFC.

I CAN BE FOLLOWED ON TWITTER @SCOTTIENTCF

(I am still working on Matty to join the TWITTERVERSE)

4 Responses

  1. After Thursday night, I take an early 13-7 lead.

  2. After 1 o’clock games:

    Scottie: 8-3 – 80 points
    Matt: 6-5 65 points

  3. Going into Monday night

    Scottie 10-4 86 points
    Matt 8-6 86 points

  4. Week 1 Final Tally

    Scottie – 12-4 101 points
    Matt – 10-6 97 points

Leave a Reply

