NFL Week 12 Picks: Scottie vs. Matt

Well, my attempts to shorten the gap last week were foiled by another solid performance out of this joker Scottie.  Both Scottie and I went 12-2, so Scottie’s overall record is 108-51-1 and I’m at 104-55-1.  I’m 4 games back, but with the way Scottie is picking these games it’s going to be a struggle to close the gap.  With that being said, if Ed Cooley can lure Brandon Austin to PC, I can make this happen.  Let’s do it…

Matty is slowly realizing that I am an NFL games picking guru.  He is running out of time and he knows it.  This Thanksgiving week, I am thankful for having the talents I do to be successful in my picks.  I am also thankful for having a whipping boy like Matty to illustrate just how good I am.

Texans @ Lions

Scottie: Texans

The Texans have the chance to clinch a playoff spot with a win today.  They won’t waste any time in doing so.  The Lions have not been able to put their talent together in a way that would make them a victorious team.  The Texans offense will have its way with the Lions and they will show last week’s nail-biting win over a terrible Jaguars team was just a hiccup.

Matt: Texans

The Texans had a bit of a scare last week when Chad Henne decided to throw for 10,000 yards in one game.  I think this game turns into a shootout, but the Texans D is able to close it out in the end.

Redskins @ Cowboys

Scottie: Redskins

It baffles me the Cowboys are still in the playoff hunt.  They have been saddled with injuries to key players all year.  Maybe I am drunk that RGIII kool-aid but I think he thrives in the national spotlight.  He will lead the Skins to victory over the Boys in Big D.

Matt: Cowboys

RGIII is a good story down there in Washington.  The Redskins have little hope of making a playoff run.  On the other hand, the Cowboys are fully focused on making a playoff run and always tend to put on a good show for the Thanksgiving Day national audience.  Rob Ryan devises a master plan for RGIII and the ‘Boys take it.

Patriots @ Jets

Scottie: Patriots

This is a quick turnaround for both teams.  The talk in New England all week is the loss of Rob Gronkowski.  Yes, it is a loss but not as big as people are making it out to be.  Remember when everyone was making fun of Belichick for all the tight ends he stockpiled in the off season? Who is laughing now?  Patriots have way too much talent.  The Jets have zero talent.  Talent wins.  Matty is an idiot.

Matt: Jets

I feel like every year the Pats and Jets split the season series.  It pisses me off like nothing else because the Pats are always the best team.  With that being said, Gronk is our biggest weapon against the Jets and without him in there, I think the Pats’ offense will struggle.

Titans @ Jaguars

Scottie: Jaguars

Chad Henne is starting a 6 week audition to be the starting quarterback of the Jaguars in 2013.  This will end the Blaine Gabbert experiment.  Justin Blackmon finally arrived last week with a monster game.  Cecil Shorts has been a nice surprise down in Jacksonville.  CV’s birthday present from the Titans? A loss to one of the worst teams in the league.

Matt: Titans

I can’t do it.  I just can’t bring myself to pick the Jaguars.  You could throw Montana in his prime out there and I’m still going with the Titans.

Bills @ Colts

Scottie: Colts

The Colts are fresh off a brutal beating at the hands of the Patriots.  Even with that mind, I am impressed with Andrew Luck.  The Colts will be able to spread the field against the woeful Bills defense and turn the game into flag football. Remember the Colts are still in the playoff hunt as well.

Matt: Colts

As Andrew Luck and the Colts are licking their wounds, they are boosted by a shaky Buffalo squad coming into town.  The Bills snuck out a win last week against the Dolphins, but Tannehill doesn’t play in Indy.  Luck gets the job done.

Steelers @ Browns

Scottie:  Steelers

I want to pick the Browns here.  I really do.  Charlie Batch is starting for Pittsburgh.  Their offense is rather shaky.  The Browns are playing at home.  But the Browns have shown they can’t close out games.  Pittsburgh is still in the playoff hunt.  The game means more to Pitt.  I am trying to talk myself into this decision if you can’t tell.

Matt: Steelers

See above post for the Jaguars.  You could put Scottie under center for the Steelers and I’m still picking Pitt in this one.

Raiders @ Bengals

Scottie: Bengals

Carson Palmer is coming back to his old stomping grounds.  I don’t think it will be a happy return for him.  Andy Dalton knows where his bread is buttered and that’s AJ Green.  Palmer has no such weapons on offense.  I don’t see the Raiders coming into Cincy and getting a win.

Matt: Raiders

The Raiders suck.  The Bengals suck.  Carson Palmer has been having a decent year, as has Andy Dalton.  I have no idea who to pick in this one, so I’m blindly going with Oakland.

Broncos @ Chiefs

Scottie: Broncos

Last week, Matty finally realized the Broncos are an elite team.  I am hoping after his colossal blunder in picking the putrid Chiefs last week that he learned a few things.  C’mon Matty, this is an easy one, don’t mess it up.  The Willis McGahee era looks to be over in Denver.  Remember the name Ronnie Hillman.  The youngest player in the NFL has the potential to be great.

Matt: Broncos

I took a flyer last week on the Chiefs and they disappointed big time against the Bengals.  This week, with Peyton Manning coming to town, the Broncos will get the job done.  The McGahee injury hurts Denver, but Peyton has been plenty successful without a run game in the past.

Seahawks @ Dolphins

Scottie: Seahawks

The Dolphins have been a disappointment the past 2 weeks.  I was high on their defense, but they have been bad lately.  I don’t know why, but I was liking Tannehill, and I was wrong on that one.  My rule of thumb is to pick Seattle when they are at home and against them when they are on the road.  But this week, the Seattle defense will give Tannehill fits.

Matt: Seahawks

The Seahawks are great at home and not so great on the road.  The Dolphins aren’t great at home and they have Tannehill under center.  It looked like the Dolphins’ rookie QB was making some strides earlier in the season, but after that Buffalo game he may be hitting that rookie wall.

Falcons @ Buccaneers

Scottie: Buccaneers

The Bucs have been a very exciting team the past month.  I think they might be the hottest team in football right now.  Matt Ryan killed his MVP hopes last week throwing 5 picks.  I don’t know if I would call this an upset pick, especially with the Bucs being at home, but I really like the Bucs.

Matt: Falcons

Doug Martin and Josh Freeman have become quite the combo in Tampa Bay.  Matt Ryan, Roddy White, Julio Jones, and Mike Turner help form arguably the best offense in the league.  I think this one is going to be close on Tampa’s home field, but the Falcons are just damn good.

Vikings @ Bears

Scottie: Vikings

The Vikings were able to win without Percy Harvin against the Lions in Week 10.  They even threw up 34 points.  The Bears were awful on Monday night against the Niners.  While Percy Harvin was my early season MVP, the Vikings have shown they are able to win without him.  The Bears just can’t win with Jason Campbell under center.  I have to give credit to my buddy Marc on this pick.  He told me this was his money in the bank upset special.  When he talks, I listen.  After all he is 6’7.

Matt: Bears

The Bears got beaten like Scott Patterson does in life on Monday night against the 49ers, and are missing Jay Cutler more and more every day.  Cutler’s health will be huge factor in this game, but I think the more important injury is Percy Harvin for the Vikings.  Harvin hasn’t practiced this week, and his absence against a stout Bears D will be difficult to overcome.

Ravens @ Chargers

Scottie: Ravens

It may not be pretty, but the Ravens continue to win.  Ray Rice ran for 40 yards on 20 carries last week.  Flacco was just as bad and the Ravens still got the most important stat of them all, the W.  Phillip Rivers has finally found a target in Danario Alexander.  That is all well and good, but that connection, doesn’t help the Chargers get a W this week.

Matt: Ravens

The Chargers are unraveling.  Philip Rivers walked off the field last week before the game was even over.  He’s sick of Norv Turner.  I don’t even like the Chargers and I’m sick of Norv Turner.  God, that man is ugly.  Anyways, Flacco and Ray Ray should have a big day against a mediocre Chargers defense.

Rams @ Cardinals

Scottie: Cardinals

The Rams lost to the Jets last week.  The Jets.  Bradford was 23-44 for 170 yards.  What a sexy line from Sammy!  Bradford might be without his binky, Danny Amendola on Sunday.  I am getting back to my roots and the facts on this one.  The Rams suck.  Bradford sucks more.  Cardinals win.

Matt: Rams

Scottie falls more and more in love with Sam Bradford every day, and I love it.  Bradford is a beast.  Guy gets the job done with Scottie and Me as his two wideouts.  Larry Fitz’s production has hit the shitter.  The Cards would be better off with a punter at quarterback.  Ken Whisenhunt will be fired.  Kevin Kolb makes way too much money.  Larry Fitz gets traded to the Pats.  Oh billy!!

49ers @ Saints

Scottie: Saints

I am going with the upset here.  I don’t think the 49ers stout defense will be able to slow down the high-flying Saints attack.  This will be a shootout.  Colin Kapernick will have a nice game but he is just to raw to keep up with Drew Brees.  Whatever the case may be, I am excited to see what happens in this game.

Matt: 49ers

The 49ers with Kapernick may be better than the 49ers with Alex Smith.  I mean it’s a small sample size, but the kid looked good last week.  He has mobility, and with some experience looks as though he can sling the old pigskin a bit.  I think the 49ers can at least slow the Saints offense and the Saints d won’t be able to contain my man Frank Gore.

Packers @ Giants

Scottie: Giants

This is another game that will be fun to watch.  The Giants have been out of synch the past few weeks but are coming off a bye.  It is always difficult to pick against my fantasy quarterback, but that is what I am doing here.  I think the Giants were able to get their stuff together and are poised to make their run at another Super Bowl.  Plus, Victor Cruz gave my high school, (The La Salle Academy) a shout out on Twitter last week.  I owe it to him.

Matt: Packers

This will be a great game.  These two teams don’t like each other.  They are both battling for the top seed in the NFC.  Aaron Rodgers plays great in the cold.  Eli plays great in big games.  The deciding factor in this game will be the Packers run game.  If the Pack can at least keep the Giants D-Line honest with a few productive runs, they win.  If not, the Giants’ D line will pin their ears back make life miserable for Aaron Rodgers.

Panthers @ Eagles

Scottie: Panthers

I don’t understand how Matty could type a paragraph about the most meaningless game of the week.  This will be Andy Reid’s last game as the head coach of the Eagles.

Matt: Panthers

It’s looking like Vick will be out again, and the previously proclaimed rookie prodigy Nick Foles will be starting for Philly again.  What I don’t understand is how people who are supposedly knowledgeable about football continue to put stock in how players perform in the preseason.  Preseason does not matter!  Nick Foles lit it up this year, and struggled big time last week.  It happens all of the time.  Why people don’t understand that is beyond me.  Anyways, the Eagles are a defeated team that now looks like they are lacking in confidence completely.  On the other hand, the Panthers are just trying to salvage the season week by week.  I think Cam Newton gets it done against a porous Eagles defense.

I can be followed on Twitter @Scottientcf

Matty is a male nurse.

4 Responses

  1. After Thursday’s games:

    Scottie: 3-0
    Matt: 1-2

  2. I feasted on Matty for Thanksgiving. It was delicious.

  3. Going into 4 o clock: Scottie 7-4
    Matt: 5-6

  4. Into Sunday Night: Scottie: 8-6
    Matt: 8-6

Leave a Reply

