NFL Week 11 Picks: Scottie vs. Matt

After a miserable week last week, Scottie has pulled a little further into the lead.  Scottie went 9-4-1 last week, bringing his overall record to 96-49-1.  I went 6-7-1 last week, bringing my overall record to 92-53-1.  I would love to see some comparisons between Scottie and my record vs. the so call experts on ESPN or any other sports network.  I’d be willing to bet Scottie and I are putting up a damn good fight.  I’m back in the zone this week working towards that free bar tab.  Let’s do it…

The Matty O Show was the Matty No Show last week.  Meanwhile, I just continue to straight kill it.  I am consistently awesome.  The truth is, and I hate to brag (I really do), I get 5-10 of my friends texting me throughout the week asking me who is going to win such and such a game.  Does Matty have that kind of rep? Nope.  Nuff said.

Dolphins @ Bills

Scottie: Dolphins

The Dolphins will recover from an embarrassing loss to the Titans last week.  Cameron Wake will get to Fitzpatrick at will. It seems level of education doesn’t translate in the NFL.  Ryan Fitzpatrick has a Harvard education yet he might be the most mistake prone quarterback in the NFL.  That is a long sentence meaning he is a really dumb quarterback.  I expect the Dolphins to take advantage of that.  Reggie Bush is also due to break out of his horrible season.  Why not do it in the national spotlight?

Matt: Bills

The Bills’ offensive output surprised me last week against the past, that being said I think Scottie and I could throw up 21 points against the Pats.  Scottie seems to have more faith in the Dolphins than I do.  The Bills defense isn’t what Buffalo fans thought it would be, but the recipe against Miami is easy.  Stack the box and make Tannehill beat you.

Packers @ Lions

Scottie: Packers

I admit, I have gone back and forth on this game throughout the week.  I learned Clay Matthews was out and I was leaning toward the Lions to get the upset at home.  Then I heard Jordy Nelson is going to play and I changed my mind again.  At the end of the day, I think Green Bay is the better overall team and Aaron Rodgers is a stud.  Advantage: Packers.

Matt: Packers

I had high hopes for the Lions headed into the 2012 season.  After 10 weeks, I no longer have any hopes for the Detroit Lions.  The Lions will play the Packers tough because it’s a division game, however after 60 minutes I expect the Pack to come out on top.

Cardinals @ Falcons

Scottie: Falcons

I was finally right about the Falcons losing last week.  This week they get a chance to get back in the win column with a lay-up against the Cardinals.  The Cardinals may have a good defense but the Falcons offense is high-powered.  Look for Jacquizz Rodgers to get more action because of Michael Turner’s struggles.

Matt: Falcons

I’ll admit it, Scottie was right and I was wrong.  But let’s get one thing straight, Michael Turner really isn’t struggling.  He’s on pace for nearly 1,000 yards in rushing on a team that embodies the pass first, pass second, and run third philosophy.  Maybe the normal Michael Turner stats aren’t there, but he’s doing what needs to be done to keep defense honest.  This week, I expect the Falcons to win big against Arizona, and I’m looking for a big week out of Michael Turner.

Buccaneers @ Panthers

Scottie: Buccaneers

The Buccaneers are awesome.  Last week it was their special teams and defense that won them the game.  Freeman has all the tools in any quarterback in the NFL could ask for: Superstar wide receiver (Vincent Jackson), solid possession receiver (Mike Williams), great running back (Doug Martin), and consistent tight end (Dallas Clark).  Cam Newton is firmly entrenched in an awful season.

Matt: Buccaneers

Scottie proved me wrong last week picking the Bucs when I went with the Chargers.  Every week that passes, the Bucs are looking better and better.  Every week that passes, the Panthers are looking worse and worse.  Josh Freeman gets the better of Cam Newton in this matchup.

Browns @ Cowboys

Scottie: Cowboys

I actually had to think twice about this game.  My feelings about the Browns are well-known.  But the Cowboys are so beat up that I really think the Browns have a shot in this one.  At the end of the day, I’ll take the home team in a matchup like this.  This is the worst game on Sunday.

Matt: Cowboys

I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again, I’m not picking the Browns once this year.  The Cowboys benefitted from the Vick injury last week, but still managed a victory.  In Dallas on Sunday, the ‘Boys will pick up another victory.

Eagles @ Redskins

Scottie: Redskins

The Redskins have an underrated defense.  I expect them to feast on rookie quarterback Nick Foles to the tune of 3 picks and 5 sacks.  The Eagles offense will obviously struggle because the Redskins will be allowed to zero in on Shady McCoy (who hasn’t gotten as much play as he should this season).  The Eagles defense has been horrid this year as well.  RGIII is going to have a lot of fun on Sunday.  Well played diss by Matty on the Nick Foles comparison that you will read in a few seconds.  I got no response that was priceless.

Matt: Redskins

With Mike Vick, I think the Eagles take this game.  The Redskins are porous against the pass, and I believe Vick would expose them.  With Nick Foles at the helm, I’m going with RGIII on this one.  I know Foles had a good preseason, but I’m not sold.  Got to prove it to me first, kid.  Foles on an NFL field kind of reminds me of Scottie in a bar full of beautiful women…shy, timid, and completely lost.

Jets @ Rams

Scottie: Rams

My feud with Matty over Sam Bradford is well documented.  I think I’d rather go to the dentist then pick the Rams given the choice.  The fact of the matter is the Jets are trash, easily the most dysfunctional team in all of professional sports.  Even Sam Bradford could lead his team to victory over the mess known as the Jets.

Matt: Rams

Scottie knows he’s turning into a Sam Bradford fan right before our eyes.  Kid is basically gushing about how good Bradford is.  I have no sympathy for the Jets.  This whole controversy with Tebow was brought on by themselves.  They had locker room issues last year and then they go and bring back all of the same players and expecting a change.  Bradford kills it as usual.

Bengals @ Chiefs

Scottie: Bengals

The Chiefs remind me a lot of Matty O.  They just suck at every aspect of everything.  It took them 10 weeks to just have a lead in regulation?  The Red Rocket Andy Dalton will use AJ Green to abuse the Chiefs defense in Kansas City.  Matt is so foolish that he will actually probably pick the Chiefs here.

Matt: Chiefs

I can’t figure out the Bengals.  Their confusion is turning me off, and I know have little desire to be in support of Cincinnati. I think that the Chiefs find a way to squeeze out a win at home.  Don’t ask me why, I just have a feeling.

Scottie:  Told ya so.  Idiot.

Jaguars @ Texans

Scottie: Texans

During my fantasy football drafts I made sure I drafted the Texans defense.  I didn’t do this because of the talent of their defense but more so because of the weak schedule they play against.  Here is yet another week, where they play a team that couldn’t move the football if they had a U-Haul truck.  There really is no easy solution to fix the Jaguars.  They look to be in football hell (see Bills, Buffalo) for many years to come.

Matt: Texans

Scottie, you’re so awesome by picking the Texans defense.  Wow man, so smart.  Cut the shit Scottie.  Even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in a while.  This game is a no brainer.

Saints @ Raiders

Scottie: Saints

I was right about the Saints last week.  I know y’all are asking yourselves, “Scottie, do you ever get sick of being right all the time?” Nah, not particularly.  The Saints are going to make a push to get into the playoffs.  Drew Brees has his boys playing well.  The easy schedule sure helps too.  Sorry to my boys Marcos and T Baumann, the Raiders are just bad.

Matt: Saints

Drew Brees and the Saints impressed me last week against the Falcons.  Their defense stood strong against one of the most potent offenses in the entire NFL.  Their offense showed up when needed.  Maybe the Saints are back, or maybe they just put it together for one week against the Falcons.  Either way, the Saints find a favorable matchup against the Raiders this week.

Chargers @ Broncos

Scottie: Broncos

Matty is just realizing the Broncos are evolving(?) into a top team in the AFC.  If Matty wasn’t spending his Sundays at Home Depot and Bed Bath and Beyond he would have known 6 weeks ago the Broncos are legit.  While Rivers is leaps and bounds better than Sam Bradford, he is nowhere near the caliber of Peyton Manning.  Broncos cruise.

Matt: Broncos

The Broncos are evolving into one of the best teams in the AFC.  The Chargers are quickly slipping out of contention and Norv Turner’s days in San Diego are becoming numbered.  Peyton Manning looks like the Peyton Manning of old.  Philip Rivers looks like an old Scott Patterson on the flag football field.  The Broncos win at home.  By the way, what ever happened to Knowshon Moreno?

Colts @ Patriots

Scottie: Patriots

The Patriots secondary defense is bad.  The Colts defense is worse.  This will be the equivalent of a flag football matchup.  I expect it to be high scoring much like the Bills game last week.  I am excited to see what, if anything, Aquib Talib will bring to this team.  I think the Patriots have the better offense and are capable of stopping the Colts at least once on Sunday.  That will be all they need.

Matt: Patriots

What is being built up into a big matchup won’t evolve into much of a contest at all.  Andrew Luck is a very good player, but Belichick and company have a knack of making life very difficult for rookie quarterbacks.  The Colts defense can’t contain the Pats offense, and as all of us New England fans are hoping, the addition of Talib will help solidify the Patriots’ secondary.

Ravens @ Steelers

Scottie: Ravens

Flacco continues to knock on the door of being elite.  G Knott learned that last week as he stabbed me right in the back advising me to start Freeman over Flacco with Rodgers on a bye in fantasy football.  I am more mad at myself.  Why would I ever ask anyone advice on anything sports related when the rest of the world population is inferior to me?  Be that as it may.  I can’t believe Byron Leftwich and Charlie Batch are still in the NFL.  The Steelers won’t move the ball without one of the most winningest quarterbacks of this generation in Big Ben.  Flacco will throw up points and win the game because that’s what Flacco does.

Matt: Ravens

Without Roethlisberger at the helm, the Steelers don’t have much of a chance.  Mendenhall is coming back, but Byron Leftwich hasn’t started in a couple of years, and will have a hard time moving the ball against a tough Ravens defense.  Flacco and the Ravens get it done in Pittsburgh.

Bears @ 49ers

Scottie: 49ers

Is Jason Campbell really going to start an NFL game again?  Hope he has put his purple drank away.  Even if the 49ers are without Alex Smith they will beat the Bears.  Don’t expect the scoreboard to be lit up in this one.  I expect a 10-3 game.  The real story will be Forte vs. Gore.  This is going to be an old-fashioned smash mouth battle on the gridiron.

Matt: 49ers

The Bears keep racking up primetime games, and to be honest I can’t stand watching their offense play.  Jay Cutler is a miserable quarterback.  Matt Forte is an absolute force, but doesn’t touch the ball enough.  Michael Bush is one of the league’s best backups, and barely sees the field.  With Cutler possibly out, Forte and Bush will be vital against a stout 49ers defense.  With Alex Smith out, the 49ers will have to rely on Frank Gore and their defense.  49ers win a close one at home.

I can be followed on Twitter @ScottieNTCF

Matty drinks wine coolers.

2 Responses

  1. into 4 o clock games: scottie 7-2
    matt: 7-2

  2. Into Monday: Scottie: 10-2 (106-51-1)
    Matt: 10-2 ( 102-55-1-)

Leave a Reply

