Scottie’s Recap: Celtics Slow Down Bulls

DISCLAIMER-Yes, this post is two days late.  I apologize.  I know I made the promise to watch every minute of every game.  But through no fault of my own, I was unable to watch the first 45 minutes of the game.  Yes, that means I only saw the last 3 minutes of the game.  I play basketball on Monday nights..  I had my DVR set to record the Celtics game and the Providence Friars game.  The DVR couldn’t handle such excitement and only successfully recorded the Friars game. I am just full of excuses.

The Celtics beat the Bulls 101-95 in Chicago giving them a 2-0 record on their road trip through the central US.  In the last 3 minutes of the game, I was impressed with the relative ease in which the Celtics were scoring.  The Bulls are usually the premier defensive team in the league thanks to former Celtics coach Tom Thibodeau.  But I saw Rondo hit KG with 2 alley oops off of screen rolls that made the Bulls look more lost than Hurley, Sawyer, Jack, and Locke.  (The five people that read this blog will appreciate that reference).

Any other analysis I can provide would be by looking at the box score, something I really hate doing.  But here I go.  The Celtics started out fast and built a 12 point lead going into the half.  They threw up 33 points in the first quarter.  Good to see the first unit starting quickly again.  It looks like the game was never really close.

Rajon Rondo was one rebound short of a triple double.  It is amazing that he is getting at least 10 assists a night with no problem. He also had 5 steals and was 10-16 from the field.  I am still waiting for someone to make a convincing argument that he is not the best point guard in the NBA right now.

Every starter scored in double figures.  Rondo 20, Bass 16, KG 15, Terry 13, and Pierce had the off night with just 10 points.  Every starter was + in plus/minus while every bench player was minus.   I am glad to see Doc was able to keep KG under 30 minutes and they were still able to win.  Keeping Garnett healthy is the obvious key to the season.  If he breaks down, so do the Celtics championship hopes.  Doc must be conscientious of that.

I am starting to believe Courtney Lee is playing on borrowed time right now.  If he keeps up his unproductive play, he will be getting Darko/ Jason Collins minutes when Avery Bradley comes back.  Lee was a minus 17 in 18 minutes off the bench.

I apologize for a weak recap but I truly have nothing to else to go on here.

Old friend Al Jefferson and his Utah Jazz come into town tonight at 7:30.  I will watch the game and provide a more useful follow up.

 

I can be followed on Twitter @ScottieNTCF

Leave a Reply

