Scottie’s Recap: Celtics Mute Jazz

The Celtics started their stretch of 4 games in 5 nights on the right track with a 98-93 win over the Utah Jazz.  While Paul Pierce led the Celtics with 23 points, it was the play of the bench that was the story in tonight’s game.  Rajon Rondo played just 25 minutes because of a turned ankle he suffered in the 3rd quarter.  He was still able to continue his streak of games with 10 assists to 32 games.

Leandro Barbosa filled in admirably for Rondo.  In 23 minutes he had 16 points and 3 assists.  Barbosa got to the rack at will driving past anyone that attempted to guard him.  Barbosa reminds me a lot of Chris Wilcox with the energy he is capable of bringing off the bench.  Last week, I was apprehensive about the back up point guard situation, but if Barbosa can be a semblance of what he was tonight, the Celtics will be just fine.

Anybody who follows me on Twitter or is friends with me on Facebook is well aware that I went absolutely wild after Jeff Green dunked on Al Jefferson.  I have come to the conclusion I never want to see Green take a jump shot again.  I am yet to see anyone stop him from driving to the basket.  He got to the foul line 7 times tonight because he continues to take the ball hard to the rack.  I am willing to say that if Green can get to the line 6 times a game, there is no doubt in my mind the Celtics will win. Enjoy Rondo’s reaction to the Green dunk.

I have been hard on Courtney Lee the past three games.  Tonight, in 18 minutes, he was a +11.  He had 6 points, 2 rebounds, and an assist.  He was solid on defense and didn’t do anything that made anyone mad about his play.  Truth be told, I am waiting for him to explode on offense.  He has a smooth jump shot and is still trying to find his way with this team.  Everyone else seems to be gelling.  It is time for Lee to become a Celtic.

Interesting stat I will leave everyone with:  The Celtics are 1st in the league in assists.  They’re 30th in the league in rebounds.

The Celtics make their first trip to Brooklyn tomorrow to take on the new look Nets.

I can be followed on Twitter @ScottieNTCF

Leave a Reply

