Week 4 NFL Picks: Matty O vs. Scottie

Well last week was pretty freakin miserable.  I went 7-9, while Scottie was on fire going 5-11.  That’s the Scott I know and love.  I can taste that free beer already.  For the season, Scottie has a slim lead at 26-21 to my 25-22.  I expect us both to bounce back this week, but Scottie has no chance of beating me.  Let’s do it…

You want to know who had a worse week than the replacement refs? Me! I am embarrassed.  That is all.

Browns @ Ravens

 Matty: Ravens

The Ravens proved to me on Sunday night that they are the real deal.  Their defense isn’t what it used to be, but Joe Flacco is getting the job done.  Am I ready to say the Flaccmaster is an elite NFL quarterback, like many of the ESPN analysts?  Nope, not even close.  That being said, Flacco does everything the Ravens need him to do for them to be Super Bowl contenders.

Scottie: Ravens

The Ravens will be playing on short rest.  The consolation prize? A lay-up against the worst team in the league.  There is a chance the Browns will go 0-16.

Patriots @ Bills

Matty: Patriots

Well Pats, it’s time to rebound.  A lot of people are saying that they got screwed with that field goal at the end of the game against the Ravens, but honestly they got themselves into that situation when they had the game in hand.  They were up 9 in the 4th quarter, they should have closed the door.  I expect the Pats to come out strong in Buffalo.

Scottie: Patriots

I think this is the week the Pats get their heads out of their rear ends and get back in the win column.  It is a major help that CJ Spiller is likely out and Fred Jackson isn’t 100%.

 49ers @ Jets

Matty: 49ers

The Jets just don’t look great this season.  They aren’t the same menacing team that would run the ball down your throat and then win a 12-10 game.  With Revis out, the Jets D becomes a question mark, and I still think Sanchez is terribly terrible.  San Fran will be on a mission after their surprising loss last weekend.

Scottie: 49ers

The 49ers were one of many teams to screw me last week.  I forgive them.  Plus, I just don’t think the Jets are even decent this year.  Losing Revis for the season certainly doesn’t help either.  I hate to say it but I think Rex needs to shake things up and put Timmy under center.  Until that happens, I will be picking against the Jets every week.

Seahawks @ Rams

Matty: Seahawks

I know I’ve been on the Sam Bradford bandwagon this season, but if you watched the Monday night game you now know Seattle is for real.  They made Brian Bulaga, the Packers right tackle, look like Scottie out there…threw him all over the field.  Seahawks D wins another one here.

Scottie: Seahawks

Gamby said it best. “Scottie, you know Sam Bradford sucks.  You are 100% right.  Why did you cave?”  You know what? I have no idea.  Sam Bradford does suck.  He has never been, isn’t, and never will be anything close to an effective quarterback.  The Seahawks got to Rodgers 8 times in the first half last week? My God, its going to be Bradford bashing time come Sunday.

Panthers @ Falcons

Matty: Falcons

Atlanta may be the best team in the NFC right now.  The Panthers were projected to build on a mediocre 2011 season and contend for a playoff spot in 2012.  Their schedule has yet to allow them to gain any momentum and it doesn’t look promising again in week 4.

Scottie: Falcons

Cam Newton is proving the sophomore slump myth is a reality.  There are questions now about his mental make-up.  If teams get to him early he becomes a pouty little girl and makes Bradford look like Montana.  I expect Matt Ryan to continue his effective play and the Falcons to run away with this early.

Vikings @ Lions

Matty: Lions

What the hell are the Lions doing.  Messing up 4th downs.  Blowing games left and right.  Time to get your heads out of your asses.  Minnesota is coming off an impressive win against San Fran, but I can’t see 2 in a row.

Scottie: Vikings

The Lions may be without Matthew Stafford.  The Vikings (statistically) have the best run defense in the league.  I think Shaun Hill will struggle just enough for the Vikings to sneak in yet another win.

Chargers @ Chiefs

Matty: Chargers

The Chargers got absolutely smoked last week against the Falcons while the Chiefs pulled off the upset against the Saints (who may very well be the worst team in the NFL right now).  I expect Scottie’s golden child Philip Rivers and company to have a bounce back game against KC and start to assert themselves as the best team in a bad AFC West.

Scottie: Chargers

First off, Rivers is leaps and bounds better than Bradford.   Second, Jamal Charles had 38 touches last week.  That was outstanding for my fantasy football team.  (Keep in mind I drafted Charles and Matty drafted Michael Turner. How’s that working out?) While its good for me, it is not at all good for the Chiefs.  They have no other offense.  Matt Cassel sucks wearing anything other than Patriot apparel.  Peyton Hillis is hurt.  Can’t see KC winning 2 in a row.

Titans @ Texans

Matty: Texans

I finally go against my man CV’s squad last week and the Lockmaster led Titans make me look stupid by beating the Lions in overtime.  Sorry Tennessee fans, the Texans are a much better team at this point in the season than the Lions.

Scottie: Texans

The Texans are going to be the number 1 seed out of the AFC come playoff time.  A large part of that is how weak of a schedule they play.  Chris Johnson is getting paid about $1 million for every yard rushed since signing his contract last season.  Locker played well last week but they Titans don’t have the talent to compete with Houston.

Bengals @ Jaguars

Matty: Bengals

I keep wanting to pick against Cincinatti, but then I look at their opponent’s and just can’t do it.  Blaine Gabbert has yet to throw a pick in 2012, but he has amassed about as many yards throwing as Scottie has runs in his shorts this season.  Dude is just bad.  MJD I commend your effort, but you have nothing around you man.

Scottie: Bengals

I sat down to eat breakfast yesterday, looked at the back of the milk carton and saw a picture of Justin Blackmon.  He has 4 catches for 31 yards.  Granted that production dwarfs Matty O’s production in high school on the gridiron, but that’s not going to cut it as a top 10 pick in the NFL. Meanwhile Andy Dalton to AJ Green is the next Schaub to Johnson or Stafford to Johnson.  BJGE also is the perfect complimentary back for the Bengals.

Raiders @ Broncos

Matty: Broncos

I’m really hoping that Peyton Manning starts playing like Peyton Manning soon because the ESPN guys need something to talk about other than the refs.  The Raiders are a mess.  Enough said.

Scottie: Broncos

The Raiders continued their Ripken-like streak of screwing me last week. At this point I have no idea what to do or say when it comes to the Raiders.  Where Matty gets off calling the Raiders a mess, I don’t know.  I mean, they did beat the Steelers last week. But hey, to each his own.

Dolphins @ Cardinals

Matty: Dolphins

So apparently the Cardinals are being crowned as one of the best teams in the NFC.  I’m sorry world, but who is their starting QB?  Kevin Kolb?  John Skelton?  Does it even matter?  Yes, the Cardinals beat the Pats.  Yes, the Cardinals beat the Eagles.  Guess what, I don’t care.  My gut tells me they aren’t that good and I’m sticking with it.  Tannehill…you suck.

Scottie: Cardinals

If the Cardinals defense can destroy Tom Brady and embarrass Michael Vick, the sky is the limit when it comes to what they can do to Ryan Tannehill.  Helen Keller can see better than Matty right now.  The Cardinals win football games.  Unlike Sam Bradford.  Don’t be surprised when the Cardinals win their division and host a playoff game this season.

Redskins @ Buccaneers

Matty: Redskins

I believe I saw scrolling across the bottom of ESPN last night that Adrian Clayborn is out for the season for the Bucs.  Tampa’s defense has been playing physical all year, but Clayborn was a big part of that.  RG3 is a natural born leader and I’m sure is giving the Bucs a little angina.

Scottie: Bucs

I still believe in Greg Schiano.  I don’t think RG3 can go down to Tampa and beat a young and hungry Bucs squad.  After losing to the Giants and Cowboys in close games, I think they come out on top here.  I also think Josh Freeman will have a big game.  Isn’t Vincent Jackson mortified about his putrid Week 3 “effort?”

Saints @ Packers

Matty: Packers

How the hell are the Drew Brees led Saints 0-3?  Is it because their head coach is suspended?  Maybe their defense is bad?  Maybe Drew Brees just isn’t as good as everyone thinks he is an benefits greatly from a wide open spread offense?  I’m not sure.  I am sure about one thing, the Packers are a much better team than they showed on Monday night and that will be proven in this game.

Scottie: Packers

If there is one team I do not want to be facing this week, it is the Green Bay Packers.  The fact that they are at home is an added obstacle.  The Packers will be playing with a chip on their shoulder for the rest of the season after the Monday Night Mayhem.   Nobody knows what’s going on with the Saints.  They are quickly becoming the Ain’ts once again.

Giants @ Eagles

Matty: Eagles

Justin Tuck really rubs me the wrong way.  The dude just blabs and blabs about issues that don’t pertain to him.  Tuck, stay out of the Osi-McCoy beef.  It has nothing to do with you.  “I don’t get involved in other peoples beefs until I’m on the field…”  Just shut up dude.  Eagles come back after a bad loss and Vick shows why he is worth $100 million.

Scottie: Giants

Michael Vick has looked like a Matty O all season.  He does not read defenses at all.  Every time I look, he turns the ball over.  Until Vick learns how to read a defense, pick up a blitz, understand coverage schemes, and can check down to other receivers, the Eagles will go nowhere.  The Giants are over their Super Bowl hangover and Eli has become elite.

Bears @ Cowboys

Matty: Cowboys

This is a tough one.  I live by two rules: 1. Never count on Jay Cutler. 2. Never count on Tony Romo.  Well, looks like I’m screwed.  It comes down to this, I have more faith in Tony Romo’s supporting cast (i.e. Miles Austin, Dez, Jason Witten, DeMarco Murray, D-Ware, etc.) than I do in Cutler’s (Michael Bush, Brandon Marshall, Julius Peppers, Urlacher, etc.).  Sticking with the ‘Boys.

Scottie: Cowboys

I echo Matty’s words.  I also can’t stand Jay Cutler.  His binkie (Matt Forte) won’t be back until next week.  I think DeMarcus Ware picks up the role of what every other NFL team does, and beats the crap out of Cutler.  The Cowboys are just a better team than the Bears.

I can be followed on Twitter @ScottieNTCF.  Matty listens to Coldplay.

3 Responses

  1. I’m always right! And you know how I know Matty is gay… he listens to Coldplay.

  2. After 1 o clock: Scott: 7-1 Matt: 6-2

    that’s more like it

  3. after 4: Scott- 11-2 Matt: 10-3

Leave a Reply

