February Mumbles

I have not written anything over the past few days, mainly because I have had a serious battle with writer’s block.  I had many topics floating around in my head but nothing that I could really sit down and write a substantial post about. So I have decided to combine those rants into one post.  Loyal readers of this blog know what that means when I actually sit down to the laptop.  You’ve got it, it is Mumbles time.  A mini tour of what my brain has been processing over the last week or so!

*Ever since the Celtics-Suns game where Kevin Garnett infamously delivered a sack tap to Channing Frye, I have been trying to convince myself that Garnett isn’t a dirty player.  Then I imagined if Ron Artest did that to Paul Pierce and how irate I would be. My problem is that I am loyal to all my teams that I root for and my loyalty can sometimes blind objectivity.  It pains me to say it but I am starting to believe that KG is a bit of a dirty player.   While I struggled to come to this reality, I then thought again and wondered what’s the problem with that? Lakers fans love Artest.  Pistons fans loved McFilthy and McNasty.  Celtics fans loved McHale clothes lining Rambis. What does it matter if KG has some dirty moments?

*Last year the marquee name at the NHL trading deadline was Ilya Kovalchuk.  Last year the Bruins had some nice trade pieces with their draft picks (Thank you Kessel).  The Bruins declined to get involved in the Kovalchuk sweepstakes and were able to draft Tyler Seguin with the second pick in the draft. The Devils traded for Kovalchuk and they were ousted early in the playoffs last year and are currently the worst team in the NHL. This year the marquee name is Jarome Iginla. This year the Bruins have similar trade bait with their draft picks (Thank you Kessel).  If the season were to end today they’d have the fifth and somewhere in the mid twenties for picks in the draft.  Marc Savard is likely out for the season and they will need to acquire a center.  If you are the Bruins do you deal one of your first round picks away for a potential rental in Iginla, someone who may be the missing piece to getting Lord Stanley’s Cup? If it would bring Boston a Cup, I would do it in a heartbeat.

*The best thing about an off-season is the rumors that come with who your squad will acquire for the next season’s roster.  This is certainly the case for Patriot fans after yet another early exit in the playoffs.  The Patriots have an abundance of picks in the upcoming April draft.  I am not going to pretend to know much about who they will be targeting in the draft.  I will leave that to Matty.  What I do know is they need a pass rusher like Antonio Cromartie needs to learn about birth control paraphernalia.  Aside from the need for a pass rusher, the Patriots need a wide-out to complement Branch and Welker.  Two names to chew on: Larry Fitzgerald and Chad Ochocinco.  I would love to see the Pats move a couple of their picks to Arizona for Fitz.  That trade would be more exciting than the one that landed Randy Moss a few seasons ago.  Ochocinco could probably be had for a lot less.  He and Belichick have always publicly admired each other.  But boy would I love to see Larry Fitz in New England.

*Yankee GM Brian Cashman has recently come under fire in New York for saying “right now the Red Sox are a better team than the Yankees.”  Why would anyone criticize the man when he is speaking the truth? The Red Sox now have a lineup that goes toe to toe with the Bronx Bombers, the Boston rotation is a lot better than the Pinstripes, and the Sox bullpen is of higher quality as well.  The Yankees have brought in Mark Prior, Bartolo Colon, and Freddy Garcia to help out their rotation.  There is no truth to the rumor that they are also working out John Burkett, Hideo Nomo, and Mark Portugal as well.

*Q and I recently discussed some college basketball and I feel our discussion is worthy of posting here.  I am sure he would like to hear some feedback as much as I would.  Q is a Big East enthusiast.  He believes that when it comes to the Big East conference schedule, there is no such thing as an upset because so many of the teams are among the best in the country.  While I agree with that concept, I added a bit of a wrinkle to his argument.  My take is that while the Big East is without a doubt the premier conference in the country, it does not have a sure-fire, powerhouse team that I can point to and say they are going to the Final Four with any kind of certainty.  I look at Kansas, Duke, Texas, and Ohio State as powerhouses.  Yes, I am aware that they have lost to teams in the Big East (St. John’s beat Duke, and UCONN beat Texas) but I just don’t see the Big East getting a team into the Final Four this season.

*Come Sunday I will be rooting like hell for the Green Bay Packers to take down the Pittsburgh Steelers in this year’s Super Bowl. Two weeks ago I found myself rooting for the Jets to beat the Steelers and not because I like the Jets.  I despise the Pittsburgh Steeler organization more than I do the Lakers or the Yankees.  I despise that hideous rag the fans wave incessantly, I don’t want to hear the Roethlisberger belongs in the “Brady-Manning class” argument, and I sure as hell don’t want to hear “Pittsburgh is the new dynasty” discussion.  I want Green Bay to destroy Pittsburgh more than I want to win a Powerball jackpot.

I can be followed on Twitter @ ScottieNTCF

2 Responses

  1. No trade….I don’t want another Miroslav Satan, and I don’t want another defenseman, and I sure as hell don’t want some former superstar walking in, and breaking a well oiled chemistry, that needs no Stanley Cup boost….in the NHL, there is no such thing…You either have it, and ride it, or you don’t….you don’t buy it….Iginla is awesome though….three years ago…

  2. Well put. Upon further thought, I would be hesitant to deal for him because he isnt the player he was three years ago.

    I thought Satan was ok last year. Nothing terrible but nothing great just solid.

Leave a Reply

