MattyO vs. Scottie Week 6 Picks

Last week was abysmal.  There is no getting around it.  The only silver lining is that I picked up a game on Matty because I know Brett Favre is awful and enjoys taking pictures of his Johnson rather than winning football games. I went an embarrassing 6-8 while (thankfully) Matt went 5-9.  Any way I can make up ground I will take.  On the season Matt has a 43-33 record for a winning percentage of  56.5%.  I, on the other hand, have a record of 37-39 for a winning percentage of 48.6%.  I am currently 6 games back and will wager a night out at a drinking establishment with Matt.  Loser at the end of the season picks up the tab.  Let’s goooo!

I prefer Sam Adams Boston Lager on tap…Let’s do it…

Seahawks @ Bears

Scottie: Bears

Jay Cutler is back after being sacked silly against the Giants 2 weeks ago.  Todd Collins was able to lead the Bears to victory last week with just 6 completions for 32 yards. Cutler is a stud and he is back and ready to go. The Bears defense is stout and the Seahawks offense is equivalent to the little sisters of the poor.

Matt: Bears

I’m not overly fond of the Bears.  I think they have been very lucky to get off to a 4-1 start.  Their offensive stats are pretty terrible, but their defense is getting back to its old ways.  The Seahawks can not win on the road, so the lucky streak continues in Chicago.

Dolphins @ Packers

Scottie: Dolphins

The Packers are the walking wounded.  They have been the victims of the injury bug that has been passed on from the Boston Red Sox.  Rodgers will play but I think he will be largely ineffective.  The Dolphins are a very solid team that will look to recover from a humiliating loss to the Patriots 2 weeks ago.  I like the Dolphins a lot here.

Matt: Packers

Aaron Rodgers doesn’t know his name.  Jermichael Finley can’t walk.  Ryan Grant ruined my fantasy team.  Clay Matthews has hammy issues.  Injuries are piling up, but Aaron Rodgers and the Pack still find a way to get it done in Green Bay.

Chargers @ Rams

Scottie: Chargers

Once upon a time I was a fan of the Rams, thinking they were an exciting young team to keep an eye on.  Then they lost Mark Clayton for the season and were smoked by the Lions 44-6 last week.  Phillip Rivers is the best quarterback in the game this season and he will have a field day against the Rams defense.

Matt: Chargers

Best in the game Scotty?  Maybe by the numbers, but I’m not trying to tell you Kyle Orton is the second best quarterback in the league.  Anyways, Scotty and I both had one foot on the Rams bandwagon, but after getting destroyed by Detroit it is safe to assume that we both jumped ship.

Ravens @ Patriots

Scottie: Ravens

I picked against the Pats 2 weeks ago and apparently that was their bulletin board material.  Maybe picking against them again will lead to another win.  As much as I like to win this competition, I like for the Pats to win more. Truth is they have no business winning his game as I currently see the Ravens as the best team in football.  Their offense is complete with all kinds of weapons (Boldin, Rice etc.) and the defense is the best in the game.

Matt: Ravens

Check my “What to Look For…” post for some more in depth game discussion.  The Ravens offense is too good for this developing Patriots defense to hold under 21 points.  The Ravens defense is too good for the Pats to score more than 21 points.  Advantage Baltimore.

Saints @ Buccaneers

Scottie: Saints

Even though the Saints have lost their identity without Pierre Thomas and Reggie Bush, I still think they can handle the Bucs, who are among the surprise teams this year in the NFL.  Mike Williams is hurt and that leaves Josh Freeman with his favorite receiver being unhealthy.  I expect Drew Brees to throw for a mile and lead the defending Super Bowl champions to victory.

Matt: Saints

What is up with Drew Brees?  I think that 97% of the people working at ESPN were ready to anoint him the best thing since Jesus before this season started.  Even with Brees’ questionable performance as of late, the Saints have too much talent to let one slip away against the Bucs.

Lions @ Giants

Scottie: Giants

I have picked on the Giants relentlessly over the past few weeks mostly because a few of my coworkers are Giant fans.  The problem is they have had the last laugh the past few weeks after a slow start. Hakeem Nicks is an elite receiver and as much as Eli sucks, he is no dummy and knows where his bread is buttered.  The Lions wont be able to stop Nicks, and Shaun Hill’s little hot streak will end against the Giants defense

Matt: Lions

There is just something about this match-up that is forcing me to lean towards the Lions.  Throwing up 44 against the Rams was solid, but it was the Rams.  But, I feel that the Giants are too bipolar of a team to put two great weeks of football together in consecutive weeks.  I expect this to turn into a shootout, with Shaun Hill leading his team to victory (who would have ever thought that statement would ever be uttered?)

Falcons @ Eagles

Scottie: Falcons

Yes, I have a mini man crush on the Falcons but with good reason.  They are  4-1.  They have a blossoming young quarterback in Matt Ryan who has an arsenal of weapons in Michael Turner, Roddy White, and Tony Gonzalez.  The Eagles are not as a good a team with Kevin Kolb under center.  I really wish Michael Vick was healthy for this game but thats not the case.

Matt: Eagles

Scotty may have a mini man crush on the Falcons, but mine is a full blown crush.  I love this Falcons team.  Matt Ryan wins games, Roddy White is unstoppable, and Michael Turner is starting to heat up.  But, a good buddy of mine, PC, is a huge Eagles fan and gives me a hard time every time I pick against them.  Well PC, this week my faith is in your Eagles…now don’t let me down!

Browns @ Steelers

Scottie: Steelers

Big Ben’s return from his suspension is a cupcake.  The Steelers have been solid without him, and now they will get to the Ravens level with the rapist under center.  Helping the Steelers’ cause is Colt McCoy making his first NFL start.  As a diehard Longhorns fan, I know how awful McCoy is.  Unfortunately, I have his jersey which I will forever claim is actually an Earl Thomas jersey.  McCoy will throw 3 picks and get sacked 8 times because his boyfriend Jordan Shipley is in Cincinnati. (Yes, I am still bitter about the Horns losing the national championship last year.) Steelers win.

Matt: Steelers

Colt McCoy just got thrown into one of the worst situations imaginable.  Making your first NFL start against the Steelers is almost like have to choose between which way to die.  That may be a little intense, but I don’t care.  Big Ben will have a terrible game because he sucks as a human, but the Browns are horrendous.

Chiefs @ Texans

Scottie: Texans

This is a trap game for me as both teams have routinely screwed me all season long.  I am going to go with my gut on this one and stick with the mentality that the Chiefs success has been a fluke and that the Texans are a legit playoff contender.  I think Schaub will explode for 350 yards and 3 touchdowns.

Matt: Chiefs

The Chiefs defense was very impressive against the Colts.  Houston is one of the worst defenses in the league in terms of yardage allowed, and dead last against the pass.  I expect huge games from Jamaal Charles (who now has an expanded role in the offense) and Dwayne Bowe (finally!) en route to a Chiefs victory.

Raiders @ 49ers:

Scottie: 49ers

At some point the 49ers have to win a God damn game.  I was high on them in the preseason thinking they would run away with the NFC West and I was dead wrong.  I will pick the 49ers the rest of the way until they win because there is no way this team goes 0-16.  How Singeltary hasn’t been canned yet is beyond me.  My confidence in this pick is solidified in that they are playing the Raiders.

Matt: 49ers

I’m not even explaining why I pick the 49ers anymore.  They will win eventually and Singletary is an animal…enough said!

Jets @ Broncos

Scottie: Jets

LT is back to stud status.  On Monday night he showed me an explosiveness that I haven’t seen out of him in the last 3 years.  I have long believed that the Jets are Super Bowl contenders as long as Sanchize doesn’t turnover the football.  He has been smart so far this season and if he continues on this path the Jets are a force to be reckoned with.  All that being said, this week will be a true barometer as to how good Kyle Orton actually is.  I have him in a fantasy league and I am riding out the hot streak.  I am interested to see if it continues.

Matt: Jets

Kyle Orton is having a huge season, but he sadly now has to go against two very good corners.  Expect both teams to put up some points, but the Jets will finish the game with more than the Broncos.

Cowboys @ Vikings

Scottie: Cowboys

Until Brett Favre realizes that he has the best running back in the world and he should hand off to him time after time, the Vikings will lose.  The flag football strategy of chucking the ball downfield to Moss doesn’t work in the NFL, especially with guys that can file for social security in a few years (Favre, Moss).  If I am the Cowboys I sign Jenn Sterger to play outside linebacker to distract Favre and let Demarcus Ware do everyone a favor and decapitate Favre.

Matt: Vikings

I am finding it to be very difficult to imagine a scenario where neither the Vikings or the Cowboys are in the playoffs.  I just can’t see it.  Favre chucks about 75 passes to Randy Moss, 9 will be completed, two for touchdowns.  Romo will get pummeled all day by Jared Allen, and like Scotty is advocating, AP will go off.

Colts @ Redskins

Scottie: Colts

Somehow, some way, despite all odds, the Redskins continue to win.  Call it McNabb Magic I guess. But the Redskins are 3-2 and to be honest I don’t know how they won 3 games.  Taking that into consideration and that I just don’t have it in me to pick against Peyton Manning, I am going with the Colts here.

Matt: Colts

The Redskins have one of the worst pass defenses in the NFL.  Dallas Clark is the x-factor in this game.  Reggie Wayne, at least in my eyes, no longer scares me like he used to.  With the outside of the field locked down, look for Clark to take Indy on his back and carry them to a narrow win.

Titans @ Jaguars

Scottie: Titans

This game has the potential to be the worst Monday night game of the year.  I want to pick the Jaguars here because my former friend CV, who is a diehard Titans fan, doesn’t return calls.  But that would just not be logical and I don’t want to pick up a tab for Matty when this is all said and done.  The bottom line is Vince Young wins ball games and he will continue to do so.  And CV, just remember you liked Kerry Collins over VY.  How’d that work out for ya?

Matt: Titans

My man CV steered me right last week, convincing me the Titans would beat the Cowboys.  I’m sticking with my dude until he does me wrong.  Bring on the Boston Lager baby!

2 Responses

  1. some respectability…9-5 for me

    matt goes 8-6

    i pick up one more game…at this rate we will be tied by week 12

  2. 8-6…not bad after going 3-5 in the 1pm games

    time to get back to business

Leave a Reply

