Why I am Still Watching

Most of the Red Sox “faithful” have put their hats and shirts away awhile ago.  Some have not tuned into a game since Dustin Pedroia went down with a broken foot back in June, others haven’t tuned in since his failed comeback.  While I haven’t watched every game this season, I have done my best to follow the Sox throughout the season.  Yes, it has been difficult at times.  But I am still following them.  Contrary to popular belief, there are still plenty of reasons to follow them.

1) True fans stick by their team no matter what.  If you only stick by your team when they are in first place, you aren’t a fan.  Chances are growing up, you were a fan of the Cowboys, Bulls, and Yankees.  You are the definition of a pink hat.  Stick by the team when the fashionable thing to do.  Get out of my face.  It is seasons like this that make the World Series’ runs all the more enjoyable.

2) I’d be lying if I said I still wasn’t holding out hope that they go on an improbable run and sneak past the Yankees into the playoffs.  The Sox are not mathematically eliminated yet.  If they are able to pull this thing off, I want to be able to say I was watching and not be lying.  They did it in 2004.  Why not now?

3) 5 of their last 9 games are against the Yankees.  People say the Sox-Yankees rivalry is overrated.  Some say the games drag on forever.  Well I don’t care what people say.  I love baseball and Sox Yanks are as good as it gets.  If the Sox were to get knocked out, I’d still love to see them ensure that the Yankees only get the wild card and not the division title.

4) I am rooting for this team to get 90 wins.  They have had 19 guys on the disabled list this season.  Some will argue the disabled roster is better than the roster that is on the field.  Guys like Darnell McDonald, Bill Hall, Ryan Kalish, and Daniel Nava have overachieved.  All the Red Sox haters are quick to point at the payroll as a reason for the Sox success.  This year they were the underdog with no expectations.  The team was fun to watch all season and if you missed them, shame on you.

5) Yes they are on the brink of elimination.  They are two losses away from being mathematically eliminated from playoff contention.  This means that there won’t be any baseball until April.  I am doing my best to enjoy it now because I love baseball and I love the Red Sox.

Leave a Reply

