The Return of the Mumbles

Now that we have the blog back in full swing with posts coming at you everyday, I thought it would be a good time to bring back what was once a popular type of post. Everyone month I would rant about an assortment of topics and call it my “Mumbles” column.  Those of you who have followed the blog for a while understand why I call it Mumbles, and those of you that are new to following the blog, well you are on the outside of an inside joke.  Doesn’t that stink?

*Face it, Reggie Bush won the Heisman Trophy in 2005.  The Heisman Trophy is given to the most outstanding college football player whose performance best exhibits the pursuit of excellence with integrity.  While the part about integrity might have been ignored by Reggie, he still was in fact the best college football player in 2005.  No one can take that away from him.  Stripping him of the trophy will only take the trophy out of his trophy case.  Many people have wanted the award to go to Vince Young.  I, being a diehard Longhorn fan, cannot agree with that.  Everyone will always remember Reggie Bush no matter how hard the NCAA tries to erase their record books.  Just think of Michigan basketball in the early 90’s with the Fab Five.  Sure they don’t exist in the record books, but everyone remembers them.  Reggie Bush is the 2005 Heisman winner and it should stay that way.

*Russian basketball coach David Blatt made some comments that clearly perturbed the usually unflappable Coach K.  Coach Blatt commented how the Soviet Union was the rightful winner of the 1972 Gold Medal Game in Munich over Team USA.  It was a controversial game due to the fact that the final 3 seconds of the game were played three times.  Ironically, Team Russia plays Team USA Thursday night, September 9 which was the same date the Russians beat the Americans in Munich.  I didn’t think I would care much about the FIBA Championships this summer, but I have to admit that I am now intrigued by this game tomorrow night.  USA will be motivated for the first time during these trials and I am thinking they will stomp the Russians rather handily.

*Those that are in favor of the BCS got just what they wanted with the Boise State Virginia Tech game Monday night.  In no other sport or league, be it pros or college, does a regular season mean as much as it does with the BCS System.  If NCAA football were to go to a playoff system, they would lose the drama they have with regular season football.  As much as I hate the BCS, I do have to admit that it does make the regular season must see TV.

*Count me among those that think the Red Sox should resign Adrian Beltre and Victor Martinez.

*While I am talking about resigning, it would be a bad idea for the Patriots to get Tom Brady resigned nor would it be a bad idea for the Boston Bruins to resign Zdeno Chara.

*Inception was the best movie I have seen since Shutter Island.  Coincidently, Leo Dicaprio was in both.  He is by far the best actor of this generation and it isn’t even close.

*In case you still care, the Boston Red Sox have a 1.7% chance of making the playoffs according to ESPN.com.

*I am going to have to give Danny Ainge a “B” for his work this offseason with the Boston Celtics.  He kept the nucleus intact and was able to bring in some serious depth.  Are the Celtics old? A little bit.  However, I firmly believe they will be back in the Eastern Conference Finals for a fourth year in a row and will put a significant scare into the Miami Heat when the playoffs come around.

*I have officially made the transition from PC to Mac with the purchase of a MacBook.  I’d ask for your patience with me as I learn this computer and try to figure out how the hell to use it.  Until I learn there won’t be any pictures on my posts.  For this, I apologize.

Leave a Reply

