The Savior?

What if I told you that the answer to the Red Sox problems would be a 36 year old outfielder that is hitting .272 on the season with 7 home runs, 41 RBIs, and is a below average outfielder.  Would you buy it?  Now, what if I told you that outfielder was Johnny Damon?  Would that change your mind?

Believe me, I was a huge fan of the “idiots” that led the Red Sox to their first title in 86 years back in 2004.  That team actually got me back into baseball, a sport that I had all but abandoned after my affection for the NFL grew exponentially.  I loved the rugged, sloppy, drunken portrayal of this group that simply played baseball because they loved the game.  When the going got tough, they took a shot of Jack, went out and won the game.  If you lived in, or anywhere around New England (aside from New York of course) in 2004 you had to love those guys.  But, that was 2004.  This is 2010.  The “idiots” have dispersed all over the Major Leagues, many of them no longer put on a baseball uniform on a daily basis.  Johnny Damon has transformed from a 30 year old speedster that played center field with reckless abandon to a 36 year old DH that has stolen a total of eight bases on the season.  Damon has played just about a quarter of his games in left field, the rest of those games he occupied the DH position.  The Boston Red Sox are certainly not in need of a DH, they need an outfielder that can reenergize this team with good defense and dependability at the plate.  I’m not so sure that Johnny Damon will be able to do what is going to be asked of him.

Word today is that Damon is leaning towards denying a move to the Sox and staying in Detroit for the remainder of the season.  As much as I want this team to improve and make it to the playoffs, I would rather them save a prospect and realize that adding aging outfielders to an already sloppy outfield situation may not be the best move.  Believe me when I tell you that I would welcome a return of the “idiots” that brought this team to the promise land, but sadly that ship sailed about six seasons ago…

One Response

  1. I understand your point. The ship has sailed. But I love Johnny and I think he would be an addition to the team. The man simply knows how to win. He still is gritty and he would be beyond motivated if he helped this team into the playoffs. It is fair to say he would be viewed as a baseball god, even if he didnt do anything statistically to help.

    I hope he comes to town. What’s the worst that could happen? He gets booed?

Leave a Reply

