Back on the Bandwagon?

Nope, not me.  Well, I guess bandwagon may not be the most appropriate word.  I’m the guy that tonight (Wednesday) will choose to watch the Sox finish off their series against the Rays over game five of the Eastern Conference Finals.  So, I guess if there was a bandwagon, I technically never got off.  A more fitting question may be: Is your hope restored for the 2010 Boston Red Sox.  The answer to that…a resounding I don’t know.  Yup, I don’t know.  I’m not sure whether the last eight games (in which the Red Sox won seven) have been a mirage, or whether it is a sign of things to come.  I’m not sure whether David Ortiz’s performance in the month of May is simply an entire off-season and the month of April’s frustrations coming out onto the baseball. Or whether the “old” David Ortiz simply took three months of the 2009 season off and has decided to postpone his vacation this season.  To tell you the truth, I’m not sure why I’m even writing this blog post…but you’re the one reading it.

So, we have established what I don’t know (and that is a hell of a lot), but, here are a few things that I do know.  I know…well I knew that Josh Beckett’s early struggles would land him on the disabled list (I called it in a previous post…go back and check the records).  I know that Beckett’s track record points to him being lights out once he comes off of the DL, and I can’t wait to see what we just paid more than $60 million for.  I know that Kevin Youkilis is the best first baseman in the American League (and I haven’t forgot about Morneau or Teixeira) and will continue to perform at that level for the remainder of the season.  I know that Dustin Pedroia, even with his current struggles, will perform at the level that we expect of him.  Even with Cano’s early season numbers I still believe that Pedroia is the best second baseman in the AL.  I know that Marco Scutaro has underperformed, and I sense a little Edgar Renteria syndrome in his near future (really good player…comes to Boston…no longer is a really good player).  What might be the most surprising revelation about Scutaro is his defensive struggles…I’m not sure what is up with that.  I know that Adrian Beltre is exactly what I expected.  As of late, his defense has been impeccable and I know he isn’t hitting for power (he only had 8 homeruns last season!) but anytime a guy is hitting .327, I’m not complaining.  Beltre is a hardworking player that always leaves it all on the field.  Complain about him not hitting fifty homeruns all you want, but he’s no longer that type of player and, quite frankly, I don’t mind at all.  I know that Ellsbury and Cameron’s recover took longer than we expected, and I hope Tito finally smartens up and lets Ellsbury play the position that he is best at, it will benefit both players (Ellsbury’s confidence, which I believe took a big blow when Cameron was awarded center, and Cameron’s health, as left field presents much less demand in terms of running).  I know that J.D. Drew is going to hit .275, 20 homeruns, and drive in 80 RBI’s.  That is what he does every season.  It isn’t worth $14 million, but at least he is consistent.  I know that Jon Lester is the true ace of this staff (he always starts the season slowly) and will continue to perform like that for the rest of the season.  I know that Jason Varitek should catch Daisuke Matsuzaka every time he pitches.  There is an alleged communication barrier between Dice-K and Victor Martinez (understandably so as Dice-K speaks Japanese and Martinez’s first language is Spanish) and I know Tito doesn’t necessarily want to designate Varitek solely to Matsuzaka, but that is the situation where I see him having the most success.  I know that Clay Buchholz would be a #2 starter on just about any other team in the big leagues, and having him essentially as out #5 guy is something that should not be taken lightly.  I know that by the end of the 2010 MLB season, the Boston Red Sox will NOT be in fourth place in the American League.

But, the number one factor that will determine the amount of success that the Boston Red Sox will have in the 2010 season, the performance of John Lackey.  I’m pretty sure that Theo and company didn’t drop a 5 year $82.5 million contract on Lackmaster (I’m coining that phrase as my own right now) and expect him to be heralding a 4-3 record with an era north of five.  If the Lackmaster turns things around and pitches like an $82 million man should, than I certainly see the Red Sox making a run into the postseason, and possibly at a World Series.  By the way, I fully expect the New York Yankees to win the American League East Division…yes, that would mean Tampa would not make the playoffs…you heard it here first!  If the Lackmaster decides to continue to shit his pants and not show up when he needs to, then I wouldn’t expect the Sox to even sniff the playoffs (fulfilling Theo’s depiction of the 2010 season as a “bridge” year).  So, Mr. Lackey, it seems as though you need to make a decision, either prove to Sox nation that you are worth the mega-contract that was given to you and carry this team to the postseason, or fail to step up and forever have the title that Marco Scutaro now holds:

really good player…comes to Boston…no longer a really good player.

It is your choice Lackmaster.

2 Responses

  1. The only thing that I am certain of when it comes to the Boston Red Sox is that we like Krista Lackey.

    That is all.

  2. it’s pretty easy to say this stuff when the red sox are on a winning streak, well no more, but definately playing the best baseball of the season. And if I remember correctly, you were not too fond of beltre when he came over. Probably questioning his ability to produce offensively. Which he definately has. Now i am not saying he’s a great offensive player but he is not that bad. Also our offensive is better than I originally thought, we do have to rely on our pitching – this I agree with you. And if someone wants to watch the C’s over the sox in the playoffs, it’s not a bandwagon, it is just the only time the NBA gets interesting – to me at least-But that is why I am not a die hard Celts fan-And if you are a Boston sports fan, it is no problem. To claim that you are a die hard C’s/Bruins fan when you just watch the playoffs is different. But all-in-all not a bad post Odork.

Leave a Reply

